Beauty and the Beast Review from a Huge BATB Fan 


I had been waiting for March 17, 2017 for a LONG time. The moment I heard Disney would be making a live-action remake of my favorite Disney movie, I was so excited. It felt like forever until the day would finally come when it would come out. If you have been following my blog for a long time, you would know that I am obsessed with Beauty and the Beast. March 17 has finally came, and though I did not get to see it on opening day(I saw it yesterday), I am really excited to share my thoughts on the movie! 

Before I begin, I thought I would briefly state my opinions on other  live action Disney films. I loved Cinderella, I liked Jungle Book, Pete’s Dragon was okay, and my opinion of Maleficent changes a lot(sometimes I do not like it while other times I think it is just okay).  I was expecting to love Beauty and the Beast. Did I? Here are my thoughts from the beginning to the end of the film….

________________________________

Please note, that this is review has spoilers that could ruin your experience watching this film, so read on at your own risk. 

________________________________

The Enchantress scene was a little different because it did not take place on a glass window, like it did in the original.  I liked how they made the Enchantress look when she was the begger woman, and I loved how they made her look when she turned into the Enchantress. The Beast transformation was really good! 

The song, Belle, I absolutely loved! It was sung beautifully by Emma Watson, and I think she did a wonderful job. I liked in this film how they made Belle an inventor rather than her father. She created a way that she did not have to hand wash her own clothes, and I just loved this change! And Gaston… Oh, I have no words. Yes, I am the kind of girl that finds Gaston very attractive, but I also hate him at the same time. I liked how in this film, he once fought  in the war, and I think that explains his personality a lot! Belle’s father was a little different since he was an artist, but he still had the same love for his daughter as he did in the original film. 

When Maurice stopped at the Beast’s castle, it was different. He warmed up by the fire, started to eat some food he found at the table, and then, got scared by Chip. He went outside and saw roses, and Belle asked that he get her a rose, so he did. The Beast was outside, and then, that is when he took Maurice as his prisoner. The Belle(reprise) song was really good, too! I loved Emma Watson’s singing voice! 


The Gaston song was amazing! I loved it, and I found it a lot better than the original song! It was really impressive, and I enjoyed it! Be Our Guest was good, too! I loved all the colors, and the singing was better than I thought it would be! After Belle cleans up the Beast’s wound because he gets attacked by wolves, they tell Belle that the Beast is under a curse, and about the rose. They did not say how to break the spell, but I really did not like it that they told Belle about this! I did like how they told Belle a little backstory to when he was a child, and it explains why he was so selfish. 


Soon after, just like the original, Belle is given the library, and Belle and Beast quickly start to fall in love. I loved Something There! At one point, Beast shows Belle something he was given to by the Enchantress that can take you to any place you want. Belle chooses Paris, where she was born. Here she finds out what happened to her mother, and why her father never talks about her. The ballroom scene was amazing, and the Beauty and the Beast song was good, too! Belle’s yellow dress was simple but beautiful. After the Beast lets Belle go, he sings a song called Evermore, which was so sweet and heartwarming! 


The Mob Song I found extra dark, and when Gaston killed the Beast, I found it extra dark, too, since he shot the Beast several times. It was very different when the last petal fell because all the enchanted objects turned into regular objects. I actually loved that they did that because you got to see the enchanted objects’ emotions. The woman from the village comes and turns the Beast into the Prince. The Enchantress was under another disguise. When all the objects and the Beast turn into human, it was quite magical. I loved Belle’s dress at the end ballroom scene! 

Now, it is time for my overall thoughts. Everyone was perfect for their role, but Emma Watson stood out to me the most. She was just perfect for the role of Belle, and she did a wonderful job on everything! I found Gaston a much more evil, and I hated him even more. Luke Evans did a wonderful job on being Gaston. I honestly have mixed feelings on the enchanted objects. I feel they could have done a way better job on the enchanted objects, but I did like the people that voiced them. I enjoyed how this movie had backstories for some of the main characters  that was one of my favorite things. For example, we learn what happened to Belle’s mother and why her father never talks about her. I loved all of the songs; they were amazing, and I have been obsessed with the soundtrack lately. This movie did not have a lot of  major changes, but I did not like how the enchanted objects told Belle how the Beast had a curse before the curse was broken. One positive change was they fixed the plot holes from the original,  and a lot of questions that were answered. 

Overall, I loved this movie! None of these negative things I mentioned above makes me dislike this movie. I enjoyed this movie so much despite its flaws! This movie was just as I imagined it would be, and I loved it!

Sorry that this review was a little long, but I wanted to talk about everything that came to mind. Now all I want is a LeFou’s Brew and to eat at Be Our Guest.  

15 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast Review from a Huge BATB Fan 

  1. The Animation Commendation says:

    I think every girl secretly finds Gaston attractive and wants to marry him, lol!

    Anyway, I skimmed through until the last paragraph to avoid spoilers as I haven’t seen the film yet. But, glad you’re able to love it. I hope I am since BATB is my cherished film as well!

  2. Natalie says:

    Thanks! I thought it was pretty great! They didn’t change much of the plot and stayed true to the original film, so I think that’s why I loved it so much! 🙂

  3. Katie's Keys says:

    I totally agree with you on casting. Everyone was great! Ewan McGregor as Lumiere surprised me and I thought Josh Gad’s LeFou was just perfect. I would’ve preferred some more changes as it felt a little too familiar to me. Sometimes it was even the exact same line, but that’s a preference thing. Music was great! And overall I thought it was enjoyable. Very good review! Mirror Mirror remains my favourite Disney live action though!

  4. Natalie says:

    Yes, I do agree that they should have changed some lines up since some of them were exactly the same. Thanks so much; I am glad you enjoyed! 🙂 Oh, I think I saw that movie awhile ago. Not sure how I would feel about it now since it has been so long!

  5. Natalie says:

    Yeah, I should! 🙂 Oh, have you read Fairest of All(by Serena Valentino)? Definitely recommend it since you are a Snow White fan!

Leave a Reply

