Why Disney Shouldn’t Close The Great Movie Ride 


Unlike most people, The Great Movie Ride located in Hollywood Studios has always been a favorite of mine. I cannot visit Hollywood Studios without taking a ride on this attraction. There has been some rumors that The Great Movie Ride might close and be replaced with a new attraction, but I do not like the sound of that. I do not think The Great Movie Ride needs to close, and here’s why.

With a lot of Hollywod Studios’ original attractions closed, I feel Hollywood Studios is losing its Hollywood theme. The Great Movie ride is one of the few attractions that has that Hollywood-feel, and the attraction really fits with the theme of the Park. 

Unlike most rides at Disney, The Great Movie Ride has a tour guide, and I always feel apart of the attraction. It feels like you have stepped into the movies, and the tour guide actually talks to the Animatronics, which makes the attraction feel even more real. The Great Movie is so unique and different. It combines all different movies like sci-fi, fantasy, action, and romance, and Disney actually made the characters in the movies into Animatronics. I am impressed with this attraction, but I feel it gets overlooked, though don’t  think I am saying this ride does not need updates because it does. 

With a lot(and I mean a LOT) of major updating, I think this ride could go from underrated to absolutely amazing! The Great Movie Ride has always been a favorite of mine, and I do not want to say goodbye to it. The Great Movie Ride is actually a great ride, and I do not think it should close down. Movies such as Star Wars and Back to the Future(imagine seeing Biff say to Marty McFly “Say hi to your mom for me” as an Animatronic) would definitely step  up The Great Movie Ride. Even though those are still not considered new movies, those movies are more popular than a movie like Singing in the Rain. If Disney just updated The Great Movie Ride  with more popular movies, I think this attraction would be a huge hit!   

Do you think Disney should save The Great Movie Ride? 

13 thoughts on “Why Disney Shouldn’t Close The Great Movie Ride 

  1. sittingintheclouds says:

    it’s a classic, it needs updating but it definitely shouldn’t go, especially now they don’t have the Mickey hat and the great movie ride now is the statement feature as you walk into the park!

  2. Natalie says:

    I totally agree! 🙂 The rumors I heard is that they would leave the Chinese Theater where it is and put a new attraction in the building. I really hope Disney does not get rid of it!

  3. missceladon says:

    Hey Natalie! I nominated you for the Versatile blogger award: missceladon.wordpress.com/2016/09/16/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Thanks for always writing such great posts and being an all-around awesome blogger!

  4. Natalie says:

    It is not on many websites; I just found it on a few here or there! I hope it is not true either because I love it, and I agree it’s a classic! Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

