Just Keep Swimming: Finding Dory Review

image

Finding Nemo was probably one of my favorite movies as a little girl( I am  young, obviously, since Finding Nemo came out in 2003)! I had a Finding Nemo sweatshirt that I wore literally every single day, I had little figurines of the characters, and a Nemo and Dory stuffed animal. As you can probably tell, I was very obsessed with Finding Nemo, so I was very excited about the sequel, Finding Dory! I saw it just last weekend, and I am excited to give a review for this film!

image

Please note: There are no spoilers in this review that would ruin your experience watching this film, but there are some minor spoilers!

The movie starts out as Dory is seen with her parents. Dory gets separated from her parents, and she starts asking other fish for help. She soon forgets what she is asking for help for, and we later get to the scene where Dory meets
Marlin for the first time.

image

(I just had to include this; ekkkk, Dory is just SO cute as a baby fish!!!)

A year passes since the events of Finding Nemo, and Dory starts having flashbacks of her parents. She wants to find them, so she asks Marlin for help, and he finally agrees. She remembers she is from the Marine Life Institute in California, so they try to find their way there. Dory gets separated from Marlin and Nemo, and then she gets  captured by humans. She is actually taken to the Marine Life Institute, but the humans put her in a tiny tank(later to be taken to Cleveland). With help from a septopus, Hank, Dory goes off for an adventure to find her parents, while Marlin and Nemo are trying to find Dory.

The animation was beautiful, the characters were really funny(especially the sea lions)and well developed, and I know I say this about most Disney ( and Pixar films), but Finding Dory is very heartwarming. I could not do a review of a Disney \ Pixar film without talking about the important lessons featured. The first lesson I would like to mention is you should not give up easily. In both Finding Nemo and Finding Dory, we see a lot of difficult situations, but Dory never wants to give up. In Dory’s “language,” this lesson basically means her motto, “just keep swimming.” Another lesson from this film is do not let your weakness define who you are. Dory’s weakness is very obvious: she suffers from short-term memory loss, but still, she did not let that stop her from finding her parents. There were a few other lessons, but the last I want to mention is family does not always mean you are related by blood. Dory mentioned it a couple times throughout the film how she thought of Marlin and Nemo as family, and she even risked her life for them in a certain scene in this film.

Before ending this post, I would like to briefly mention the short-film, Piper, featured in this film. I am not going to review it, but I am just going to say it is SO adorable! I was smiling the entire time during this short-film because like I said before, it is just so cute!

Overall, I really enjoyed Finding Dory, and I definitely recommend to go see this film in theaters!

If you saw this film, what did YOU think of it? I would love to know your thoughts, so please, drop a comment down below!

11 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming: Finding Dory Review

  1. Tammy says:

    Natalie,

    Thank you for your review… I was debating whether or not to go… since you gave it a thumbs up I’m definitely going to check it out!!! XOXO

  2. Carter says:

    My name is Carter It’s a cool blog I like finding dori and the rest of your things that you put in it.It is a cool movie I went to see it on June 25 it was funny because she couldn’t remember but found what she wanted to find at the end did you like it I think you probably liked it because it was a cool and funny movie my favorite fish in the movie was the the octopus
    what was yours.πŸ˜€

  3. Natalie says:

    Thank you, Carter! I think it is was a pretty awesome movie! My favorite characters were the sea lions, Nemo, Dory, and Marlin! I’m glad you enjoyed the movie; thanks for leaving a comment! πŸ˜ƒ

  4. mphadventuregirl says:

    I enjoyed this movie too. Of the new characters, I loved Hank the most too. I also was a Finding Nemo fan. It was interesting seeing Dory discover more of who she is. So glad I got to watch it with my family

  5. Natalie says:

    I am glad you enjoyed this film, Meg! Yeah, Hank is a great character; I really liked him, too! I totally agree about the meaning of the film! Thanks for reading!πŸ˜‰

  6. Sara McIntyre says:

    Oh dear.. I can’t say the same about this film. Feel free to check out my review of the film but I apologise in advance if I offend you haha! I’m a huge Disney/Pixar fan and practically have Finding Nemo memorized! But Finding Dory just wasn’t up to par for me.. Thanks for sharing your thoughts though! I’d appreciate any feedback you have to offer me even if you need to rip my review to shreds! Go for it girl.
    https://reelviewsbysara.wordpress.com

  7. Natalie says:

    I will check out your review! πŸ™‚ Everyone has different opinions, so I understand! It is definitely not my favorite Pixar movie, but I thought it was cute!

Leave a Reply

