Monorails, Resorts, and Fireworks: Walt Disney World Trip Report, Part 1

Hello, Disney Lovers! This is not much a surprise to most of you, but I just returned from yet another vacation! I spent a week at Hilton Head Island and then I went to Disney! No, I did not go to the Disney hotel in Hilton Head, but I went to Walt Disney World! The original plan was just to go to Hilton Head,  but when my family realized that Orlando, Florida, was only four and half or five hours away from Hilton Head, we thought why not go to Walt Disney World? We had not gone to Epcot since April 2014, so it was a great plan! Anyway, in the next couple posts, I will tell you all about what I did when I was at Walt Disney World, and I will also include a haul type of post! Before I begin telling you about my Disney vacation, I thought I would include a few pictures I took from Hilton Head Island!

image

image

image

Hilton Head is such a beautiful place and is probably my favorite relaxing vacation! I hadn’t had a “relaxing vacation” since two years ago, so it was very nice to have a relaxing vacation after doing Disney a lot lately. Speaking of Disney, why don’t we see what I was up to at the “most magical place on earth” this time?

Day 1: The Arrival

I arrived in Orlando on June 4, which I have to say is really funny since last time I arrived on December 4, 2015(It was exactly a six month difference, and I even left Orlando on the same day)! After checking in and getting settled at the resort we were staying at, we went out to eat at a restaurant close to the resort. That was all my family did that night.

Day 2: Resort Hopping

The next day was not a park day, but my family did something we had never done before: resort hopping. It is not like we never looked at the monorail resorts before, but this time we actually looked at other resorts beside those. First stop was the Polynesian for some yummy breakfast at Captain Cook’s. My family did not want to pay for parking  at the Magic Kingdom, so we just decided to do something we also had never done before: take the Disney transportation bus. We drove our car to Downtown Disney… Err… I mean Disney Springs… From there, we got the next bus to Magic Kingdom  (The bus to Polynesian was not coming for  quite some time). After a bit of confusion, a Cast Member helped us find the right bus.  The bus driver went to Old Key West first, and it took awhile for the bus driver to pick up guests going to the Magic Kingdom. Finally, we were on are way to Magic Kingdom. We were not sure we would make it to Captain Cook’s before it stopped serving breakfast, but thankfully, to my surprise, we did make it in time. I made sure to take a quick picture of this before getting on the monorail:

image

We were literally the last people to order breakfast that morning, but we thankfully made it in time. I got the tonga toast, which I have to say was a little too thick for me, but it was pretty good, overall.

image

Disney fans, I FINALLY tried a Dole Whip!! At the Polynesian, they have a place called Pineapple Lanai, so I got one there. Keep a look out for a review coming soon!

image

After that, we took a couple of pictures and then went back upstairs and looked at one of the merchandise stores. Here are a couple photos I took at the Polynesian(I have been there so many times, so I did not take a lot of photos):

image

image

Then, we got back on the monorail and headed to the Grand Floridian. The Grand Floridian is one of my favorite resorts. I have never stayed there, but when I was five, my family ate at 1900 Park Fare(I absolutely loved it; I got to meet Cinderella, Prince Charming, and Cinderella’s step-family). Anyway, we walked around the resort for a little while. It is such a gorgeous resort, and I definitely want to stay there someday.

image

image

image

image

image

image

We decided to skip the Contemporary since we wanted to see other resorts,  and we felt we did not have a lot of time to see the Contemporary(At one point, we went through it before we arrived at the Polynesian this day). We went back to the Magic Kingdom, and then we took a bus to Animal Kingdom Lodge.

Animal Kingdom Lodge is very close to Animal Kingdom; we saw the entrance and even Expedition Everest on the way to Animal Kingdom Lodge! It was such a cool resort; it is African themed. We looked around and went outside. They have a gated part, and there is a variety of animals right outside your room.  Animal Kingdom Lodge has the Animal Kingdom feel, and it got me more excited to go to Animal Kingdom the next time I go to Disney(I have not been since 2010).

image

image

image

image

image

imageimageNext we had to go back to Disney Springs to catch the bus to Art of Animation. The bus took FOREVER to get to Disney Springs , and I was getting pretty upset. Finally, we were on our way.

image

It was about two o’clock, and before looking around at the resort, we wanted to get some lunch. We went to eat at Landscape of Flavors. I absolutely loved how this restaurant looked. In the restaurant, there were themed areas over Little Mermaid, Finding Nemo, Cars, and Lion King. We ate in the Little Mermaid area, which I did not have any problem with since Little Mermaid is one of my favorite Disney movies ever. While we were eating, they were playing songs from those four Disney movies.

image

image

imageThen, after lunch, we just explored the resort. We looked at the Finding Nemo and Cars rooms, but we sadly did not get to look at Little Mermaid or Lion King because it started to rain.

imageimage

image

imageimage

image

image

image

image

imageimage

image

Then, we took the Disney bus back to Disney Springs and drove back to the resort we were staying at. We had a long but fun day, and I am so glad we got to resort hop! If you never have, I  definitely recommend to take a half day to a day to resort hop!

Please stay tuned for part two, and there may even be a part three depending how long or short I want part two!

Have a magical day!

Natalie

_____________________________

Contact the Disney Freak via Email: disneyfreakwithabitofmascara@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “Monorails, Resorts, and Fireworks: Walt Disney World Trip Report, Part 1

  1. Marigold Sunjewel says:

    Resort Hopping is so much fun! 😀 My family did it on our last trip, and it was a blast!
    YAY!!! You tried a Pineapple Dole Whip!!! 😀
    Can’t read to read more from your trip ❤

  2. Natalie says:

    I am glad you liked resort hopping, too! What resorts did you see? I would definitely like to do it again, and see the ones I have not seen yet! I was so excited to try a Dole Whip; I mean like you are not a 100 percent Disney freak if you haven’t tried one, right? Thank you; I will try to get it up soon! 🏰🐭🌹

Leave a Reply

