One Year Blogging Anniversary and Tips For Beginner Bloggers!

image

It is super hard to believe that I started this blog on January 3rd, 2015, which was exactly one year ago today. But did I even have an idea of how to start a blog? I did not. I did not even know how to write a proper blogging   “introduction.” Well, here I am now with ten followers away from 700. Things have changed since I started this blog. I cannot tell you how much my writing has changed in general. I have looked back on my older posts and  think “was that really my writing?” Yes, it was, but it was of a girl who had no clue of how to blog. Blogging did not start  successful like I hoped it would. Do you know many followers I had on my first month of blogging? Just two followers. I compared my blog to others’,who had started after me but had many more followers than I had. I tried my best to stay positive. I knew if I worked hard on my blog that someday it would be well worth it. I was correct. I have almost 700 WordPress followers, 10 via email followers, 2,536 comments, 404 blog posts, and WAY too many likes to count.  Thank you all so much for all the follows, comments, likes, and support for my blog. Blogging has become my  favorite hobby, and thank YOU truly for being a part of it! I cannot wait to see what else is in store for my blog! Anyway, today I will be giving a few tips I learned from blogging!

•Have an interesting blog title. When I first started blogging, I did not really know the topic I was going to blog about, so I did not have an interesting blog title. That might sound weird to you since my blog is called The Disney Freak With a Bit of Mascara, but actually, my blog title was really boring at first. It was simply called Natalie’s Blog. If you want more people to check out your blog, you want an eye-catching blog title. Think outside of the box. You want an unique blog title. As well as a blog title, have eye-catching titles for your posts.

Have a blog schedule. Do you want to blog daily, every other day, on
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, etc?  Coming up and sticking to a blog schedule will make readers know when to except a blog post from you, and they will check out your blog more.

Respond to every comment. Unless it is a rude comment, try to respond to every comment.  Be friendly to everyone, and it will make them want to come back to your blog.

•Have an about page. Having an about page is one of the most important things you can have on your blog. Most people want to know some things about you before they follow your blog. What your interests are and why you started your blog are a couple things to have in your about page.

Have an email just for your blog. People want to be able to contact you, so having an email for your blog can  be really great. I recommend to make a contact page with your email address.

Allow some time to brainstorm. Whenever you have a blog post idea for your blog, write it down right away. Before I started doing this, I would sometimes have bloggers block, so this has really helped me. I have a long list of ideas for my blog, so I probably won’t experience bloggers block that much. 

Be yourself=Do not copy other people. Be yourself! Do not try to copy your favorite blogger or the bloggers who have really popular blogs. Show yourself through you writing.

Make sure to spellcheck and as well as punctuation and grammar. Some people will not stay around long if you have bad spelling, so do your best to spellcheck, check your punctuation, etc. Also, reread your blog post at least one time to make sure everything makes sense.

Add categories to your blog posts. This will get you more readers and is super important.

Customize your blog the way you want it. Choose a theme, a color, a background photo, etc.

Last but not least, have fun,and never give up! Remember it is a hobby, and remember to enjoy writing blog posts. Just never give up if your blog is not a complete success at first. Trust me, I know. Work hard on your writing and enjoy yourself! Also remember you will get there, and do not compare your blog to others’! Your blog is unique in its own way!

____________________________

Have any suggestions\questions? Email me at: disneyfreakwithabitofmascara@gmail.com

27 thoughts on “One Year Blogging Anniversary and Tips For Beginner Bloggers!

  1. Natalie Davis says:

    Thank you so much! I hope it helped you, and I will give your blog a follow! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. Ally says:

    One year and 700 followers! I don’t even have 100! Your blog is amazing though, and I love to read it even though I don’t really know ANYTHING about Disney stuff. We might go to Disney World this summer, but as we are already going to Aruba, we’ll see… One day you really should think about possibly upgrading your blog, it would be really cool as it is already so professional seeming!

  3. Natalie Davis says:

    Your blog is amazing, and I know you will have a lot more followers someday! I hope you can go to Disney World, because it is awesome! That is so cool you are going to Abruba! Aww, thank you so much! 🙂 xxx

  4. aribebop says:

    Well done Natalie! You must be very proud of what u have accomplished in the last year. Hope you had a great New Years!
    – Ari 💜💙💚💛

  5. Clarina says:

    Amazing advice! It’s almost my one year anniversary too and I remember it being equally as hard and I was equally as clueless. I wish I had read a post like this when I first started.

Leave a Reply

